Timeline of Sikhism

1469 CEBirth of Guru Nanak in Pakistan.
c. 1499 Guru Nanak founds Sikhism
1574Harimandir Sahib built
May 30, 1606Torture and martyrdom of Guru Arjan Dev
1666Birth of Guru Gobind Singh
1675Adi Granth compiled
April 13, 1699Khalsa established
Oct. 7, 1708Martyrdom of Guru Gobind Singh.
1716Banda Singh Bahadur, Sikh military leader, executed with followers in Delhi.
1761Sikhs take the capital city of Lahore, Pakistan from the Mughal governor
1799Harimandir Sahib gilded with gold
1819Ranjit Singh takes Kashmir
1849 Lord Dalhousie annexes Punjab into British India
1950 Rahit Maryada issued
June 1984India storms Golden Temple. Several hundred Sikhs are killed and the Temple is extensively damaged.
Oct. 1984 Indira Gandhi assassinated by two Sikh bodyguards, leading to Hindu violence against Sikhs.
May 22, 2004 Manmohan Singh, a Sikh, is sworn in as the first non-Hindu Prime Minister of India


  1. John Bowker, ed., Cambridge Illustrated History of Religions (Cambridge UP, 2002), p. 311.
  2. "Sikhism." Encyclopædia Britannica. 2005. Encyclopædia Britannica Premium Service <http://www.britannica.com/eb/article?tocId=9105865>.