Jewish Bible

What is the Tanakh?

In Judaism, sacred text is the Tanakh, whose name is an acronym of Torah, Nebi'im and Ketuvim (Law, Prophets and Writings). The Tanakh consists of the same books as the Christian Old Testament, although in a slightly different order and with other minor differences. The Tanakh should not be referred to as the "Old Testament" in the context of Judaism, however, as the term implies acceptance of the "New Testament."

Other names for the Tanakh include the Jewish Bible or Hebrew Scriptures.

The Tanakh contains 39 books in all (if each of the Twelve Minor Prophets is counted as one and the subdivided books such as Kings and Chronicles are counted as two):

  • 5 books of the Torah
  • 21 books of the Prophets
  • 13 books of Writings

Recommended for You

More on Judaism

More Religious Beliefs

World Religions - Main pages

Judaism facts

Judaism history

Judaism holidays

Judaism practices

Judaism symbols

Judaism timeline


Buddhism beliefs

Christian beliefs

Hindu beliefs

Islamic beliefs

Jehovah's Witnesses beliefs

Mormon beliefs

Taoism beliefs






Jehovah's Witnesses



  1. Essential Judaism by George Robinson.
  2. "Torah, Torah, Torah: The Unfolding of a Tradition." Judaism for Dummies (Hungry Minds, 2001).
  3. Tracey R. Rich, "Torah." Judaism 101 (1995-99).

© 2004-2015 ReligionFacts. All rights reserved. | About Us | How to Cite | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Advertising Info
Site created with Dreamweaver. Web hosting by Blue Host. Menu powered by Milonic.
Religions: Religion Comparison Chart | Bahá'í | Buddhism | Chinese Religion | Christianity | Confucianism | Hinduism | Islam | Jehovah's Witnesses | Judaism | Mormonism | Rastafarianism | Scientology | Shinto | Taoism
Features: Big Religion Chart | Religions A-Z | Religious Symbols Gallery
ReligionFacts provides free, objective information on religion, world religions, comparative religion and religious topics.