Eight Auspicious Symbols

In Buddhism, the Eight Auspicious Symbols (Ashtamangala in Sanskrit) are a group of lucky symbols that appear on many Buddhist textiles, objects and paintings. Each symbol represents an aspect of Buddhist teaching and when they appear together, their powers are multiplied.

The symbols derive from Indian iconography and have become especially popular in Tibetan Buddhism. Clink a link below for a full article and illustration of each Auspicious Symbol.

Parasol (chattra) - royalty and spiritual power

Golden Fishes (suvarnamatsya) - good fortune, fertility and salvation

Treasure Vase (kalasha) - spiritual and material abundance

Lotus (padma) - mental and spiritual purity

Conch Shell (sankha) - the fame of Buddha's teachings

Endless Knot (shrivasta) - infinite wisdom of the Buddha

Victory Banner (dhvaja) - victory of the Buddha's teachings and wisdom over ignorance

Wheel (dharmachakra) - the teachings of the Buddha

  1. Meher McArthur, Reading Buddhist Art: An Illustrated Guide to Buddhist Signs and Symbols (Thames & Hudson, 2004), 45.
  2. "The Eight Auspicious Symbols of Buddhism: A Study in Spiritual Evolution" - Exotic India Art (2003).