Just the facts on religion.

The Ten Plagues

The Ten Plagues are ten sequential disasters God inflicted on Egypt through Moses and Aaron, according to the biblical book of Exodus. The plagues generally increased in intensity as they progressed, culminating in the death of firstborn children in the 10th plague. As a result of the Ten Plagues, the Pharaoh of Egypt let the Israelites go, only to follow them soon after.

The Ten Plagues are as follows:

  1. Water turned to blood (Exodus 7:14-25).
  2. Frogs cover the land (Exodus 8:1-15).
  3. The dust turns into gnats or lice (Exodus 8:16-19).
  4. Swarms of flies cover the land (Exodus 8:20-32).
  5. Death of all Egyptian livestock (Exodus 9:1-7).
  6. Boils break out on the people of Egypt (Exodus 9:8-12).
  7. Hailstorms kill unsheltered humans, animals, and vegetation (Exodus 9:13-35).
  8. Locusts cover the land and consume all remaining vegetation (Exodus 10:1-20).
  9. Darkness covers Egypt for three days (Exodus 10:21-29).
  10. The firstborn children of all Egyptian people and cattle die (Exodus 11:1-10, 12:29-32).