Taoist Symbols

What are the Symbols of Taoism?

Name: Yin-Yang or Taijtu

The yin-yang (Taijitu) symbol 太極圖 is one of the most common Taoist symbols. Most of the time, this symbol represents two opposing and complementary forces that make up all phenomena of life. Most Taoist organizations display the yin-yang in some way. This symbol is also very common among all Chinese religious faiths.

See Chinese Religion main page See Buddhism main page

Name: Eight Trigrams or Bagua

The other often-displayed symbol in Taoism is called the Eight Trigrams, also known as the Bagua 八卦. This symbol represents the fundamental principles of reality. Starting at the top of the symbol and moving left, they are: heaven/sky (12:00 o'clock), lake/marsh, fire (9:00 o'clock), thunder, wind (6:00 o'clock), water, mountain (3:00 o'clock), and earth.

See Confucianism main page See Shinto main page

Name: Chinese Character for "Tao"

Another image that might be called a symbol of Taoism is the Chinese character for the word "Tao," literally mean "way" or "path." See Taoism main page See Taoism beliefs See Chi in Taoism


Name: Dragon

Certain animals are often incorporated into Taoism imagery, such as dragons and lions. These depictions represent protection and so are usually found at sacred places.

See Buddhist symbols See Confucian symbols




Name: The Big Dipper

These seven bright stars of Ursa Major, commonly known as the Big Dipper, have been tradtionally used as a symbol in Chinese religion, including Taoism. During the Shang Dynasty (cr. 1,600-1,000 B.C.), the Big Dipper was considered a deity, and in later dynasties it has been venerated as well. Learn more about the concept of The Tao Go here to get the Facts of Taoism Go to Taoism main page


Download Religion Symbols Chart for only $2

  • Buddhism main page
  • Confucianism main page
  • Chinese Religion main page
  • Shinto main page
  • Christianity main page
  • Judaism main page
  • Hinduism main page
  • Islam main page